Questions

Story: How To Install CentOS?Total Replies: 10
Author Content
skelband

Nov 04, 2016
1:12 PM EDT
Does anyone know why I keep seeing people putting question marks at the end of things that aren't questions?

How to pay for parking? How to install CentOS?

I see it on official signs as well. It's quite perplexing.
number6x

Nov 04, 2016
1:24 PM EDT
Is this the text equivalent of up-talking?
skelband

Nov 04, 2016
5:08 PM EDT
Interesting article. Now I come to think of it, as a Canadian resident, I do recognise this speech behaviour in people around me.

I did wonder if it was some kind of language cross-talk phenomenon, as I think that some languages convert statements to questions using different grammatical mechanisms from those used in English.
penguinist

Nov 04, 2016
8:03 PM EDT
Actually "How to install CentOS?" is not a complete sentence (question), it is a fragment. To make it a complete sentence one could do something like this:

"Please show me how to install CentOS."

"I will, in this article, show you how to install CentOS."

But I think that people speak in sentence fragments in common everyday speech. We say things like:

"Well done!"

"Really?"

Since sentence fragments are common in everyday language, they will inevitably also appear in the written language.
maxxedout

Nov 05, 2016
9:13 AM EDT
Well, at least we got a sentence fragment and not just a few letters. Lol
dotmatrix

Nov 05, 2016
9:28 AM EDT
Language is an semi-arbitrary combination of sounds which convey meaning to within a group. It changes over time...

And then there's this:

http://www.ecenglish.com/learnenglish/lessons/can-you-read
mbaehrlxer

Nov 05, 2016
2:49 PM EDT
it may be a sentence fragment, but that doesn't make it a question. even shorter complete sentences can be created with: "this is how to ..."

i guess people get confused by the "how". if a sentence starts with "how", it has to be a question, right?

greetings, eMBee.
mbaehrlxer

Nov 05, 2016
2:53 PM EDT