Interesting

Story: Screw this, I'm going back to Windows! Total Replies: 10
Author Content
tracyanne

Mar 09, 2012
6:43 PM EDT
Very true in many aspects... But.

I have been a Windows programmer since 1997, when I started using VB5, then VB6. I then switched to VB.Net briefly then C#. Finally on January 31 2012 I was able to abandon Windows completely. There are no longer any copies of Windows on any of my computers. Part of the reason for that is that I don't need Windows for anything i do. A Linux based Operating System has been my primary desktop since 2001

I can program in C# on Linux, I can develop C# ASP.NET applications on Linux, and even host those Web Applications on Linux. In short I have all the tools I need to do all the things i want on Linux based Operating Systems (currently Linux Mint 12 KDE).

Another of my computers has been rebuilt as a recording studio, using Ardour, Audacity, Rodegarden, Tuxguitar, Hydrogen and LMMS, and a bunch of Linux compatible hardware.

Yes there are bugs in KDE, mostly I find them annoyances rather than show stoppers. A recent one in KDE 4.7.4, which is the version on LM12, ment the icon for cryptkeeper wouldn't show up in the system tray when Cryptkeeper was running, but is solved when i upgraded to 4.8.1 (I haven't noticed anything, yet). Although I suppose one couild call the insistence by KDE on creating references to non existent GNOME applications, in the File associations list, a bug.

In short I'm really happy with my new KDE desktop, and have never really noticed much on any of my Linux desktop to complain about, except Unity and GNOME 3 Shell, but they won't ever be my desktops, so i can't complain about them now either.

By and large If I compare Windows, any version up to 7 with any of my desktops on Linux, I'd have to say my Linux desktops win hands down, every time, in spite of some of the stupid things that go on in the Linux world.
microMXL

Mar 09, 2012
6:47 PM EDT