Bad Coding Habits?

Story: How To Use Conditions in Shell ScriptsTotal Replies: 8
Author Content
rht

Apr 01, 2010
7:57 PM EDT
Perhaps it's because I am self taught that I peruse all scripting HOWTOs to pick up tips on both coding and style. I am a little concerned about some of the style points used by the author in a lesson obviously aimed at newbies.

1. Variables should always be defined without anything on either side of the"=", yet this author often takes a newline. Also, I always quote variables, even if they are a number or the output of a command.

2. I like to put stuff echoed in quotes: it's good practice.

3. The conditional "if" often takes the "then" on the same line. Newbies should be advised that this is acceptable (and usual) practice.

4. But, most importantly, the author has failed to explain how the conditional works (viz, by checking exit status). If he had done so, he could neatly have transitioned from (a) grep, followed by (b) test exit status to simply "if $(grep -q ...); then". An explanation that the "q" switch to grep changed the function of grep's exit status would then have made sense, and would have introduced a better style of coding.

Or am I nitpicking?
dinotrac

Apr 01, 2010
9:15 PM EDT
rht --

The script jarred me. I didn't even think that the code in the example would work. I thought (and it seems to work that way on my box) that, instead of setting ADMIN to the email address, it set ADMIN to ''.

Unless, I guess, there is a missing line continuation...

I didn't see one, but it might have gotten swallowed.
gus3

Apr 01, 2010
11:13 PM EDT
The value of ADMIN is being hidden under JavaScript.
dinotrac

Apr 02, 2010
1:11 AM EDT
g3 -

Ahhhhhhhhhh!
TxtEdMacs

Apr 02, 2010
11:02 AM EDT
rht,

[serious]
Quoting: 1. Variables should always be defined without anything on either side of the"=" [...]