It''s not just UNR

Story: The Move to Linux - Netbook RemixTotal Replies: 6
Author Content
caitlyn

Aug 30, 2009
11:18 PM EDT
I've been running Pardus on my netbook for the last two months alongside VectorLinux and Ubuntu Netbook Remix. n Pardus has the simplest installer I've seen yet. OK, it's not exactly flexible but it installed a vanilla Pardus system with minimal user interaction. After a reboot a wizard called Kaptan came up and walked me through the rest of the system configuration. It really was simple enough so that anyone with even half a brain should succeed.

Why am I impressed with Pardus? Everything, and I do mean everything on my netbook worked out of the virtual box. Webcam, wireless, wired networking, video, sound, you name it... It just worked. No other distro has done that on my Sylvania netbook.

Easy? It couldn't be easier.
tracyanne

Aug 31, 2009
5:24 AM EDT
Every Linux I've tried recently has been easy to install. I suspect our friend has been going out of his way to find difficult installs.
caitlyn

Aug 31, 2009
5:35 AM EDT
@tracyanne: I suspect if you tried Slackware or Arch Linux you'd still find something a bit more challenging, at last for someone who isn't Linux savvy. By offering more flexibility they add a bit of complexity. I'd even include Red Hat/CentOS in that category to a lesser degree,
jdixon

Aug 31, 2009
6:34 AM EDT
> I suspect if you tried Slackware or Arch Linux you'd still find something a bit more challenging,...

Well, Slackware installation is drop dead easy, assuming you know how to partition a disk. Slackware configuration is another matter. That's nitpicking though, since most people seem to consider them to be one process.

But even Slackware just works for the majority of systems. There will always be hardware issues, but they're actually getting hard to find.
Bob_Robertson

Aug 31, 2009
1:31 PM EDT
> There will always be hardware issues, but they're actually getting hard to find.