Wow...

Story: FreeSBIE -- first (and mostly negative) impressionsTotal Replies: 20
Author Content
techiem2

Apr 05, 2007
12:23 PM EDT
What a whiner... Waaah! It doesn't auto-start the gui! Waah! It's not made for n00bs!

Apparently he thinks the sole purpose of a livecd is for n00bs to use...
Steven_Rosenber

Apr 05, 2007
12:54 PM EDT
Beating up on new users -- yeah, that's the way to promote your OS!

I can only write as a new user, because that's what I am. I booted my first Linux live CD in January of this year, and I've spent a great deal of time in about five different distros in the past few months. I don't claim to be an expert -- I'm just a writer.

Some live CDs are meant to be run only that way, others are meant to give a taste of the distro and then provide for hard-drive installation. But live CDs do one thing, whether their makers intend it or not: They INTRODUCE people to your distribution.

And like it or not, BSD is not anywhere near Linux in popularity, familiarity or ease of use. The reason I'm looking into the various flavors of BSD is to see if there's a reason to run them instead of Linux. Do they run better? Is security better? Are the apps good?

I don't think Fluxbuntu is positioning itself as a distro for "nOObs," as you call them. That's fine -- there are plenty of others out there. Fluxbuntu serves a purpose. And Ubuntu is huge. Like it or not, it's popular because it's usable by "nOObs."