I am not a lawyer, but...

Story: RMS: No plain sailing for NovellTotal Replies: 28
Author Content
salparadise

Nov 28, 2006
1:22 AM EDT
Surely, if the agreement between Novell and MS was made under GPL2, then GPL3 is not binding on that agreement? Or can GPL3 be applied retro-actively? Or would GPL3 effectively force Novell to fork Linux and provide all support for GPL2 versions?

Or has the fact that I'm not a lawyer meant that I don't understand this issue at all?

rijelkentaurus

Nov 28, 2006
2:41 AM EDT
>Or would GPL3 effectively force Novell to fork Linux and provide all support for GPL2 versions?

That's part of the idea, I think. What about those projects that are issued under a copyright of "GPLv2 or later"? Would 3 in that case take hold as soon as it's issued?
Teron

Nov 28, 2006
3:31 AM EDT
No. In that case, the user is allowed to choose his terms. In Novell's case, GPLv2
Sachankara

Nov 28, 2006
3:36 AM EDT
No. In that case, the user is allowed to choose his terms. In Novell's case, GPLv2

Yeah, but when FSF releases gcc, glibc, etc as GPLv3, all Novell will be able to do is to continue working on the older GPLv2 releases, all by themselves. Will they have the man power they need to keep up with the GPLv3 version? Doubtful if you ask me.
Sander_Marechal

Nov 28, 2006
4:10 AM EDT
I doubt it too. But from the looks of it, it's MS that hurts more from the proposed GPLv3 changes, not Novell. So, when GPLv3 comes out with the anti novellization clauses and the GNU toolchain changes to GPLv3 or later, MS will want out of the deal and buy off Novell.

Novell won't need to maintain the old GPLv2 versions by itself but can start using the new GPLv3 versions just like anyone else. At that point MS can stick to the deal and have it's IP protection stretched to cover any/all FOSS software everywhere or it can stop the deal. Novell just needs to keep shipping a good distro. That's all.
swbrown

Nov 28, 2006
8:50 AM EDT